São Paulo School of Advanced Science on Pathogenic Trypanosomatids: from basic biology to pathogenesis and new therapies

This São Paulo School of Advanced Science (SPSAS) is focused on parasites causing two important and neglected diseases: leishmaniasis, endemic in more than 80 countries of the tropics and sub-tropics, and Chagas disease, endemic in several countries in the Americas. The School conveys strong interdisciplinarity, bringing together experts from different fields. It will encompass basic, cutting-edge research and knowledge on molecular biology, genetic manipulation, structural biology, metabolism, epigenetics, high-throughput approaches, and drug design.

SPSAS TrypsSchool will take place in the Ribeirão Preto Medical School of the University of São Paulo (FMRP-USP), a renowned Brazilian institution with a commitment to research on different aspects of parasitology. We believe that the diverse foci of research conducted in FMRP-USP will enrich the understanding of these parasitic protozoa, as well as the complex diseases they cause.

The school will select 80 participants (40 from all states of Brazil and 40 from foreign countries). The selected participants will be fully funded, which includes airfare, medical insurance, accommodation and meals throughout the two weeks. In our selection, we will prioritize graduate students (Masters, M.Sc., and Ph.D.) and post-doctoral fellows from endemic and non-endemic countries in the field of Neglected Tropical Diseases.

  • Institution

    Faculdade de Medicina de Ribeirão Preto – FMRP/USP

  • Field of Knowledge


  • Academic Director

    Angela Kaysel Cruz

  • Grant Number


  • Date

    2022-09-19 to 2022-09-30

  • Registration Deadline


  • Site


  • City

    Ribeirão Preto

  • Keywords

    neglected diseases, protozoa, parasitology, drug design, molecular biology

  • Program Hide

    For further info please contact: 

    Organizing Comittee:

    Angela Kaysel Cruz, Ribeirão Preto Medical School, University of Sao Paulo
    Dario Zamboni, Ribeirão Preto Medical School, University of Sao Paulo
    Jeremy Mottran, University of York, United Kingdom
    Adriano D. Andricopulo, São Carlos Physics Institute of the University of São Paulo
    Ariel Mariano Silber, Biomedical Sciences Institute of the University of São Paulo