SPLogIC: São Paulo School of Advanced Science on Contemporary Logic, Rationality and Information

Celebrating the 90th anniversary of Newton da Costa, the “São Paulo School of Advanced Science on Contemporary Logic, Rationality and Information,” sponsored by FAPESP, is promoted by the Centre for Logic, Epistemology and the History of Science (CLE) of the University of Campinas (UNICAMP), Brazil.

The School aims at: providing an overview of the state-of-art methodology and research on contemporary logic (featuring non-classical logics), rationality, and information.

The program comprises 8 courses and 9 plenary talks delivered in English by experts in each topic, as well as oral presentations (LED Talks) and poster sessions by the students.

Topics to be covered include:

• History and Philosophy of Paraconsistent Logics;
• The Australian, Belgian Brazilian,and Israeli schools on paraconsistency;
• Logic and Reasoning, Logic and Information, Logic and Argumentation;
• Methodological aspects on interpreting, translating and combining logics;
• Logic, Probability and Artificial Intelligence.

The event will select 100 fully-funded participants (50 grantees from all states of Brazil and 50 international grantees). Funding includes airfare, medical insurance, accommodation and meals throughout the two weeks.

Undergraduate, graduate students and postdoctoral fellows (up to 5 years after completion of the Ph.D) from all countries are encouraged to apply.

Applications are open from October 1st to October 30th, 2022.

More information and Call for Applications at https://www.cle.unicamp.br/splogic/.

  • Institution

    Centro de Lógica, Epistemologia e História da Ciência – CLE/UNICAMP

  • Field of Knowledge


  • Academic Director

    Ítala Maria Loffredo D’Ottaviano

  • Grant Number


  • Date

    2023-02-06 to 2023-02-17

  • Registration Deadline


  • Site


  • City


  • Keywords

    Logics, Epistemology, Information, Philosophy, Mathematics, Reasoning

  • Program Hide

    Find out about the program at:


    Ofer Arieli – Academic College of Tel-Aviv, Israel
    Arnon Avron – Tel Aviv University, Israel
    Diderik Batens – Ghent University, Belgium
    Otávio Bueno – University of Miami, USA
    Elena Dragalina-Chernaya – National Research University Higher School of Economics, Russia
    Jean-Yves Béziau – Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Walter Carnieli – University of Campinas, Brazil
    Marcelo E. Coniglio – University of Campinas, Brazil
    Ítala M. Loffredo D’Ottaviano – University of Campinas, Brazil
    Hércules de Araújo Feitosa – São Paulo State University, Brazil
    Evandro Luís Gomes – Maringá State University, Brazil
    Maria Eunice Quilici Gonzalez – São Paulo State University, Brazil
    Joseph Yehuda Halpern – Cornell University, USA
    Décio Krause – Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil
    Fenrong Liu – Tsinghua University of Beijing, China
    João Marcos – Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
    Daniele Mundici – University of Florence, Italy
    Graham Priest – City University of New York, USA
    Fernando Zalamea – Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Colombia