São Paulo School of Advanced Sciences on Frontiers in Cell Biology (SPCELL)

In collaboration with the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO), the International Affairs Committee of ASCB is launching the São Paulo School for Advanced Science in Cell Biology (SPCELL).

The SPCELL program will take place March 3-13, 2018, at the University of São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil. The program is supported by the São Paulo School for Advanced Science (ESPCA) and the Funding Agency of São Paulo State (FAPESP).

SPCELL has invited prominent scientists from the United States, Europe, and Brazil to give keynote lectures on a wide range of advanced cell biology topics. During the week-long program, SPCELL will provide ample opportunities for various poster presentations and scientific discussions.

If you are a postdoc or a graduate student from Brazil or abroad interested in exploring cell biology, we encourage you to apply for this program at SPCELL. Time will be allotted during the week to share your work and to interact with international leaders and other fellow scientists.

Funds are available to support travel and lodging expenses for 80 postdoctoral fellows and graduate students.

Fifty percent of the participants will be selected from outside Brazil, and the international postdocs/PhD will be selected based on their CV credentials (see below). For those selected, FAPESP will cover the costs of your round trip airfare, 11 days of lodging (which includes breakfast), transportation back and forth between the hotel and the School, and lunch and dinner at The University of São Paulo Refectory).

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/spcell2018

  • Institution

    Instituto de Biociências/IB/USP

  • Field of Knowledge


  • Academic Director

    Célia Regina da Silva Garcia

  • Grant Number


  • Date

    2018-03-03 to 2018-03-13

  • Registration Deadline


  • Site


  • City

    São Paulo

  • Keywords

    Biology, Cell Biology

  • Program Hide


    Ana-Jesus Garcia-Saez, PhD, TU Dresden

    Aline Silva, PhD, University of São Paulo

    Brendan Crabb, Burnet Institute 

    Bruce Alberts, PhD, University California, San Francisco 

    Celia Garcia, University of Sao Paulo 

    David Roos, PhD, University of Pennsylvania 

    Deborah Schechtman, University of São Paulo 

    Elizabeth Ferreira, PhD, University of São Paulo 

    Glaucius Oliva, PhD, University of Sao Paulo 

    Henning Ulrich, PhD, University of São Paulo 

    Hernandes Carvalho, PhD, State University Campinas-UNICAMP 

    Jorg Kobar, PhD State University of Campinas 

    Peter Walter, PhD, University of California San Francisco School of Medicine/ HHMI 

    Yixian Zheng, PhD, Carnegie Institution